Finally, a vacation!

The most irritating exclamation I hear about my participation in Remote Year is, “you’re on vacation for a year?!” It makes me want to bang my head on all the concrete walls here in Morocco. I promise you guys, I am not on vacation. I am still working with Dr. Sara and I am STILL job hunting.

Confession: I took a vacation between Lisbon and Rabat. Three of the remotes and I went to Lagos, Portugal (3 days), Seville, Spain (6 days), and Marrakesh, Morocco (3 days). This was considered a vacation because I didn’t have to work. Luckily for me, Dr. Sara was also on a (Amsterdam/London/Marrakesh) vacation of her own.

In the last post, I told y’all about Lagos and its beauty. We finally went kayaking and had a ball.

IMG_8797These were my side trip goons. L to R: Becca, Jo, me, and Gor!

The trip to Seville was 21 euros by bus. Let me repeat that. To take a bus from one COUNTRY to another, was 21 euros (~$23.69 at the time). I cannot recommend a visit to this gorgeous city,  in the south of Spain, enough. The featured image above is of the Plaza de España which was breathtaking in person. The next three are some of the shots I took there.

IMG_8915
As close to Barcelona as I’ve been…so far
IMG_8916
Plaza de España
IMG_8887
Gorgeous! The building is nice too 😉

Some of the other places I went to were: Alcazar & the Sevilla Cathedral. I watched my very first Flamenco show in Seville.

IMG_9077
Flamenco dancers
IMG_9041
Alcazar courtyard
IMG_9038
Alcazar (I think it was a well)
IMG_9030
Gorgeous building
IMG_9027
The (other) reason I look up
IMG_9028
Beautiful doorways
IMG_8942
Cathedral images
IMG_8947
Stained glass window at the Cathedral
IMG_8956
Cathedral
IMG_8931
My mom loved this pic

One thing that Seville did a great job at preparing me for, was the temperature in Marrakesh. We took a flight to RAK and arrived late Saturday night. Our Riad was a nice long walk from where the cars drop you off. I am not exaggerating when I say that it was easily 115 degrees Farenheit in Marrakesh.

IMG_9098.JPG
Marrakesh airport

Unfortunately for us, we didn’t grasp the concept of exploring this wonderful city early morning and late evening/night. We suffered in the heat and only saw a small portion of it because it was simply unbearable for most of the day. Despite all this, we managed to buy carpets, oils, see mosques, and enjoy authentic, amazing Moroccan food.

IMG_9142
I love these doors
IMG_9123
Me at the Koutoubai Mosque
IMG_9118
Carpet purchases

Our vacation ended on August 9th, 2016. I was happy to be in Rabat. For one, it was much cooler than Marrakesh was, and I don’t have to be in transit for about…20 days!

 

❤ Immaculate

5 Comments Add yours

  1. loice says:

    Love this! Are you planning to hit any African countries while you are in Rabat?

    Like

    1. I wish I could. There’s hardly any time left in Morocco. I don’t think I’ll even have time to go to Chef/Fez/Casa/Tangier. I guess I’ll just have to come back to Morocco for a redo!!

      Like

  2. moraa says:

    the pictures….amazing

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Esther says:

    Great photos. Seville seems quite impressive. Adding to my bucket list. Keep sharing

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

