How I got here

In 2015, I was in nursing school. This loosely translates as a game of sudden death that runs the whole year and half that is nursing school. Point blank: it sucked and I was stressed ALL THE TIME. As mentioned before, I am in Nomad•ness and it was a way for me to live vicariously through all the people who were living life and traveling like I wished I was.

My sister, who invited me to join Nomad•ness, tagged me on a post. It was talking about a company that takes 75 professionals around the world for a year. This company was taking applications for their second cohort. I read through and thought that it sounded like a great idea BUT I didn’t think it was for me. Sure, I LOVE to travel. However, I was a nursing student at the time, I had no time (all spent studying), I had no money (all spent on school), and I was just trying to survive school.

In a moment of (what I can now say was) pure hysteria, I applied for it. I try to live a life without regrets so I figured that I could apply and if I didn’t get in, it wasn’t meant to be. About two weeks later, I got email confirmation that I had moved on to the second round. I had to pay $50 and submit a second round application. I rationalized that I would have to actually give it a fair shot if I was to say that I tried.

I had forgotten about my application until I got an email on September 25th, saying that I had to do a Skype interview with Emily. She was in Malaysia at the time and I had the interview with her on October 8th. By that time, I had graduated Nursing school. On October 19th, I had Officially been offered a spot on Remote Year III also known as Cousteau. I was set to leave at the end of February. I should mention that Remote Year DOES NOT provide a job for you. It is geared towards people who have jobs that they do remotely.

JOB HUNTING IS THE WORST! I started looking at my options. RY costs $27,000 for the entire year. I had 4 months to come up with a job and/or the cash as I didn’t want to stress myself abroad. By January, there was a new itinerary that left later in the year and went to some countries that have been on my bucket list for YEARS! Needless to say, I changed to the new itinerary.

Still looking for a job but I have had a few more months to save up (although I also traveled domestically 3x and internationally 1x). I am debating on starting a gofundme page to help with expenses on RY since I haven’t found work YET but I am not very good at asking for help so this is still a thought. I’m set to leave in a few weeks and still have a lot to do. I need your prayers!

If you read through this whole post, give yourself a pat on the back! 🙂 I appreciate you stopping by. Let me know if you have questions, comments, job leads, and well wishes.

 

Love always, Indeed

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Esther says:

    *patting myself on the back*. I shall look for some job leads. Excited to see your adventures.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

